The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch – Book Review

The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch – I rate it 5 Stars

On my road to discovering 70 books this year of different genres, I finally had my sigh moment when it came to the just-what-I-needed book at the exact-time-I-needed-it experience.

I’ve had The Last Lecture on my radar to read for awhile. Just the title and premise alone catches my attention. As a teacher and previous college professor, if I had to stand up in to present a presentation that was meant to capture the essence of the journey, while leaving an impression on the audience that could do exactly what I did – sigh – that’s a serious undertaking. And with the undertaker right at your door and you know it … not much time for contemplating or revising. Or a million read overs and edits and second guesses.

And so, I read the book with the end in mind. I knew what was to come. I had heard the story before, but I plowed on through rows and fields of wisdom and quirkiness that I adored. I felt seeds planting page by page and Miracle-Gro of the Spirit already bringing me a recognition of peace and understanding. And by the end of the book, tears watered that field. It wasn’t perfect rows of corn that were planted, but a field of haphazard wildflowers, of every color imaginable, bursting forth towards the sun just hanging out. Doing their thing. The wildflowers were free and happy to be, but they still dominated with voices saying, do better next time … and on to the next help … get that right … mark those words … hold on tight to that same attitude … dream bigger … dream out loud …

And it was truly a read where at times I felt as if Randy was right there, slanting his eyes at me, saying to not deter from the work before me, “Brick walls are there for a reason. And once you get over them-even if someone has practically had to throw you over-it can be helpful to others to tell them how you did it.”

Because for the past year that’s been my mission, and what I have tried to do with not a big fan fare or accolades, not a flood of five star reviews or explosive applause. Just be there for other authors and writers. Others with shared dreams as me … to be there … here … and how does it all work, and how can we keep learning, and what do we need to think about next … and the day in and day out of it is all out there for my children to one day grasp the work that was put into it. To leave behind the way their momma took her passion and didn’t let go of that thing until it became.

There is no overnight success for me. There are people that literally have to pick me up and throw me over walls. There are more days than I can count that I just trudge along, praying that all of this is going to come together somehow … and until that day happens … let me tell others how I am doing it on the podcast, on videos, and now on this author blog.

Listen to my podcast review and application to my author life

This book had a profound effect on me. These are the types of books that matter. They make you smile, visualize hot air balloon rides on honeymoons, want to put down the book to go hug your children (which I did, more than once), and then start back reading to rocket the way to the end so the heart doesn’t break before the last word of wisdom. It causes reflection. It causes shifts.

Those are the kind of books for me that make the five star heavenly review. This tiny little book is now going to be passed along to my sixteen year old son to read. He has already agreed. I’ve already texted Tonya – “Have you read it yet?” She hadn’t. But I hope she will. She said it will be on her list.

If you, like me, are coming late to this party of The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch, then here is your personal invitation. I challenge you to read The Last Lecture. Will you accept?

Hugs,

Jen Lowry

Follow me and share the love:

Instagram: 
https://www.instagram.com/jenlowrywrites/

Twitter: 
https://twitter.com/jenlowrywrites

Facebook: 
https://www.facebook.com/jenlowrywrites/

Website: www.jenlowrywrites.com

Podcast: https://anchor.fm/jen-lowry-writes

Sweet Potato & Co Etsy Shop:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/JenLowryWrites

YouTube: 
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAQiNlUBqsnL3vnpFL97EqQ

Sweet Potato Jones – Release date September 10, 2019 – Check out my girl on Goodreads!

Leave a comment